Back to AI updates
AmazonPricing

Price reduction for GPT models on Amazon Bedrock

If your business runs OpenAI models via AWS Bedrock, costs just dropped automatically — Luna is now up to 80% cheaper — worth checking your AWS bill or reconsidering which model tier you use for cost-sensitive workloads.

Read the original source 2 min read

What changed

AWS cut Bedrock pricing for OpenAI's GPT-5.6 family effective July 30: an 80% price cut for Luna (now $0.20 per million input tokens and $1.20 per million output tokens) and a 20% cut for Terra, applied automatically with no customer action required.

Why it matters to your work

If your business runs OpenAI models via AWS Bedrock, costs just dropped automatically — Luna is now up to 80% cheaper — worth checking your AWS bill or reconsidering which model tier you use for cost-sensitive workloads.

When this could help

Relevant now if you use or are evaluating GPT-5.6 Luna or Terra on Bedrock — Luna is now described as one of the most affordable frontier-class models available on the platform.

Amazon Bedrock reduced on-demand inference prices for GPT-5.6 models effective July 30: GPT-5.6 Luna dropped 80% (now $0.20/M input tokens, $1.20/M output tokens), and GPT-5.6 Terra dropped 20%. No customer action needed — reductions apply automatically.

Build it into your routine

  1. Bedrock model cost review

    If you use GPT-5.6 on Bedrock, check your latest invoice to confirm the reduced rates are reflected and re-evaluate whether Luna's new pricing changes your model selection for cost-sensitive workloads.

What to check

  • Terra's new absolute prices are not stated in the source — only the 20% reduction percentage. Regions are not specified. Old prices are not stated, so the only way to verify is against AWS pricing pages or your own invoices. Source ↗

Sources & provider guides

Official documentation checked 12 Oct 2026. SCALA prompts and workflows are suggestions, not claims of hands-on testing.

Source & availability

This is a summary of a published provider announcement, with practical context from SCALA’s feed.

Plan, region, workspace and rollout conditions may affect access in Australia. Check the original source for current availability.

aws.amazon.com